What is AWS Certification? Detailed Explanation for Beginners

Photo of author

By admin

AWS refers to Amazon Web Services certification, which is a professional certificate for technical experts who have experience with cloud platforms and IT infrastructures. You need to clear one or multiple exams about the public or private cloud servers to get certified. This certificate will demonstrate that you have knowledge in the Amazon Web Services field and you have specific skills.

So, it shall assist you in starting your career in the field. AWS has multiple types of certification exams for cloud developers as well as administrators and architects. This certification has two years of validity, and after that, you will have to pass the exam again to be considered as an AWS developer. But you should at least know how many types of AWS certifications are there so that you can consider yourself a professional.

Types of AWS Certifications

There are six different certifications in AWS, but the four main routes are Cloud Practitioner, Developers, Architect, and Operations is another path and Speciality is another that has five sub-paths. Let’s talk about these paths a little bit.

1. Cloud Practitioner Path

If you want to get the basic and overall knowledge about cloud services, then the Cloud Practitioner Path is for you. Individuals who are thinking about pursuing a career in the technical, managerial, sales, or other financial roles in the AWS, can pursue this certificate.

2. Architect Path

The architect path is for aspiring designers who want to learn how to design the applications or systems on Amazon Web Services. But the architect path has two sub-paths, including Associate and professional. At the Associate level, the aspirants learn how to design, manage, and distribute web applications using AWS tools. This also covers troubleshooting and security concepts, disaster recovery, and more.

And the professional path is what you need to finish the exam for Associate-level AWS Certified Solutions Architect certification. In this, you will need to have at least two years of experience in deploying as well as designing cloud architectures. The architect path will provide you with knowledge regarding managing complex cloud applications.

3. Developer Path

Software developers can take this certification if they want to learn how to design and build cloud applications on Amazon Web Services. The developer path has two sub-paths which are associate and professional. In the associate sub-path, the candidate has to have the coding knowledge for designing AWS applications, maintaining them, and developing the apps. And they should also have precise knowledge about AWS architecture.

You need to have a year-plus experience to maintain the AWS apps. And in the professional sub-path, you have to complete the Associate-level AWS Certified Developer, or AWS Certified SysOps Administrator certification exam. And you need to possess at least two years of involvement in managing AWS architecture.

4. Operations Path

In the Operations path, there are many roles, including SysOps administrators, systems administrators, and students who want to know how to create deployable applications with automating and repeatable flexibility. This pertains to the networks and systems on the AWS. The Operations path has two sub-paths including Associate and Professional.

In Associate, it is learning about operations related to the AWS architecture, services, application deployment, data transfer, basic security configurations, system management, etc. The certification requires one or two years of AWS operations experience. And the professional certificate requires the students to perform the Associate-level AWS Certified Developer, or AWS Certified SysOps Administrator certification exam. And the student should also have two or higher years of expertise in handling AWS architectures.

5. Specialty Path

There are five sub-paths in the Specialty certification in AWS, and it includes the following:

AWS Certified Big Data Speciality: You need to have at least five years of experience in data analytics and AWS big data tools as well as architecture design. And it is necessary to have at least a year of Associate-level certification. You should also ensure that you have experience with data architecture design as well as implementation with automation tools.

AWS Certified Advanced Networking: You should have a minimum of one Associate-level certification along with five years of experience in data analytics and a few skills regarding AWS networking. You should also have advanced experience in network architecture, services and tools of AWS, application design, network automation, develop, and deploy services in the AWS cloud.

AWS Certified Security: You can get the AWS Certified Security certification if you have experience with the security role with a minimum of two years of experience in managing AWS workloads. After getting the certificate, you can efficiently have knowledge regarding data classifications and protection. You should also understand the data encryption methods and AWS mechanisms to execute the data. Knowledge regarding securing the Internet protocols and implementing AWS mechanisms is also provided on this certification.

AWS Certified Machine Learning: Machine learning is an important knowledge among data scientists, data platform developers, and other decision-makers in the business. Machine learning is also followed by artificial intelligence and deep learning to help the organization with new innovative ideas and values.

AWS Certified Alexa Skill Building: The AWS Certified Alexa Skill Building certification is for students who are interested in Alexa building mechanisms. The certificate will provide the candidate with suitable knowledge regarding building, testing, and publishing Amazon Alexa skills. If you are an Alexa builder, you should be able to design the UI, design the architecture, and more.

Since there are many AWS certifications for beginners, you can get one depending on the skills you require. Having a certification means you can show it to an employer as proof of knowledge, but they cannot be proof of experience. Please remember that having knowledge and experience are different things, and you need to have the practical knowledge to be called experienced in AWS certifications. With a certificate like this, you can get a promotion or preferred job in the cloud development field, but they are not the surefire way to get a job. You should only take the certificate if you want to prove that you have knowledge of this.


However, keep in mind that if you have an AWS certification, your average salary could be over $100,000 per annum. AWS certifications are the highest-paying job certifications in the cloud platform. AWS certifications are the best way to build your credibility in the area and gain a deeper level of knowledge so that you can call yourself an expert. However, you still need practical experience to implement the knowledge you get through these certification programs and by giving appropriate exams. Among many certifications in AWS, you can choose to be an architect, developer, operation manager, or specialist, depending on your preference.

Moreover, you will get more knowledge regarding data analytics, security, machine learning, databases, networking, and more. So, it’s always better to gain some more knowledge than to wait for years to get experience and show it on your professional resume. If you have a goal in your mind about what you will do with an AWS certificate, then don’t think twice about it. Check out our other articles to know more about AWS certification.

Leave a Comment